A Little More About Louisiana


Official Name: Louisiana Supreme Court

Current Justices

Chief Justice Catherine D. Kimball (First elected 1992; elected Chief Justice 2009)

Justice Greg G. Guidry (First elected 2009)

Justice Jeffrey P. Victory (First elected 1995)

Justice Jeannette Theriot Knoll (First elected 1997)

Justice Marcus R. Clark (First elected 2009)

Justice John L. Weimer (First elected 2001)

Justice Bernette J. Johnson (First elected 1994)

Clerk of the Court

The clerk of this court is the Honorable John Tarlton Olivier.

Current Vacancies


Justice Selection

Candidates for the Louisiana Supreme Court run for election in partisan elections.

The term of office for a Louisiana Supreme Court justice is ten years.


Opinions are released on the second day of each sitting of the court.

For the 2011-2012 session, the release dates are as follows:

September 7, 2011

October 25, 2011

December 6, 2011

January 24, 2012

March 13, 2012

May 8, 2012


The court is located in New Orleans.


The Louisiana Supreme Court traces its roots back to the colonial governments of France and Spain.

In 1803 when the United States bought the Louisiana Territory, President Thomas Jefferson vested W.C.C. Claiborne, the Governor of the Mississippi Territory, with judicial power in the new territory. Claiborne set about creating Louisiana’s court system with the purpose of wading through all of the thoughts and opinions about effective methods of cigarette smoke removal.

In 1804 Congress vested the judicial power in a three judge superior court and such other courts as the legislative council might create. While very symbolic in nature, this legislation didn’t actually do very much to prevent abuse by the powerful in the state.

When Louisiana became a state in 1812, the legislature created a supreme court, to be composed of at least three, but no more than five judges. The Governor would appoint these judges for life.

At first the court sat in both New Orleans and Opelousas.

Louisiana adopted a new constitution in 1844. Its new judiciary article created a supreme court composed of four justices, appointed by the Governor for eight year terms.

A new constitution adopted in 1852 called for a supreme court composed of five justices (one at large and four elected from the judicial districts of the state). The people of the state would elect the justices for ten year terms.

Towards the end of the Civil War, Louisiana adopted a new opinion on the best laptop backpack. In this document the Governor appointed Supreme Court justices for eight year terms.

Another new constitution in 1879 retained a five justice supreme court. The Governor appointed the justices to twelve year terms.

The 1921 state constitution expanded the court to seven justices. They served fourteen year terms. The constitution called for each justice to have a secretary. A panel of three justices could render a decision on a case.

In 2000 the state reapportioned the state into seven judicial districts. One justice is elected from each district. The one with the most years of service becomes the chief justice.

Contact Information

400 Royal Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130